Teachings of the Buddha

Teachingsof the Buddha

Teachingsof the Buddha

Buddhataught people the ways of living a peaceful and happy life. He alsotaught about the way towards enlightenment. It is in line withBuddhism that relates to observing and examining our lives. Theteachings of Buddha enlighten individuals towards understandingthemselves and coping with their everyday issues. Buddha also teachesabout the life’s main purpose, inequality and injustices in theplanet, as well as how to obtain true happiness.

TheThree Marks of Existence

Theyare impermanence, not-self, and suffering. Impermanence articulatesthe Buddhist conception which states that the entire experiences andthings on this planet are unsteady, unpredictable, and temporary. Itimplies that all things experienced through individuals senses iscomprised of parts. Their survival depends on external conditions.The second mark is suffering entails both physical and psychologicalaspects including pain, anxiety, stress, anger, frustration,affliction, loneliness, embarrassment, dissatisfaction, and misery.Buddhism explicates how people can prevent suffering and be reallyhappy. Lastly, is not-self that is regarded as a methodology of beingliberated from suffering.

TheFour Noble Truths

Thenoble truths are believed to be fundamental in Buddhism. They offer atheoretical framework in which Buddhist bases their ideas. Theelucidate dukkha’snature(unsatisfactoriness,anxiety, suffering), causes, as well as way of overcoming it. Theyencompass:

  • Dukkha’s truth

  • The truth of dukkha’s origin

  • The truth of dukkha’s termination

  • The truth of the way resulting in dukkha’s termination

TheNoble Eightfold Path

Theyentail being moral and directing the mind towards our behaviors andthoughts. The Noble Eightfold Path comprise of eight interrelatedfactors, that when incorporated result in the termination of dukkha.They encompass the following:

  • Right Understanding

  • Right Intention

  • Right Speech

  • Right Action,

  • Right Livelihood

  • Right Effort

  • Right Mindfulness

  • Right Concentration

Jainism,its History, Practice, Cosmology, and Ethics

Jainismbegan in the seventh to the fifth century BCE in India. It is aprimordial religion that teaches about living a life of renunciationand harmlessness. It is a key way of attaining happiness and freedom.Jain life’s purpose is to attain freedom of the soul. The religionrecommends a way of nonviolence and self-control, important factorsin attaining liberation. Jainism has three key principlesencompassing nonviolence, non-possessiveness and non-absolutism.Supporters of Jainism are required to take vows which encompassnon-stealing, non-violence, chastity, non-lying, and non-attachment.Jain faith generally focuses on asceticism. Most followers of thereligion reside in India. It has over six million supportersglobally.

Thecosmology of Jainism is based on various aspects. Jain assumes thatthe world was not created and will never come to an end. It isself-sufficient as well as autonomous and does not need to begoverned by any superior power. Jain also believes that the world isdivided into lower, middle and upper parts. Besides, it is comprisedof the living body, matter, space, time, Adharma tattva, and Dharmatattva. Time is viewed as endless and beginningless.

Branchesof Jainism

Jainismhas two branches, which are Svetambara and Digambara. Digambaraparsons go nude as they consider that wearing clothes amplifies thedesire and reliance for material possessions. It is detrimental as itresults in sorrow. However, women are not allowed to be uncovered.Women are referred to as sadhvi. On the other hand, Svetambara do notbelieve in going uncovered. Svetambaras wear white clothes as to themnakedness is not practical. The sub-branches of Svetambara encompassMurtipujaka, Terapanthi and Sthanakavasi.